adult fiction · book review · books · reading · Review · romance

In Five Years by Rebecca Serle

Perfect for fans of Me Before You and One Day—a striking, powerful, and moving love story following an ambitious lawyer who experiences an astonishing vision that could change her life forever.

Where do you see yourself in five years?

When Type-A Manhattan lawyer Dannie Cohan is asked this question at the most important interview of her career, she has a meticulously crafted answer at the ready. Later, after nailing her interview and accepting her boyfriend’s marriage proposal, Dannie goes to sleep knowing she is right on track to achieve her five-year plan.

But when she wakes up, she’s suddenly in a different apartment, with a different ring on her finger, and beside a very different man. The television news is on in the background, and she can just make out the scrolling date. It’s the same night—December 15—but 2025, five years in the future.

After a very intense, shocking hour, Dannie wakes again, at the brink of midnight, back in 2020. She can’t shake what has happened. It certainly felt much more than merely a dream, but she isn’t the kind of person who believes in visions. That nonsense is only charming coming from free-spirited types, like her lifelong best friend, Bella. Determined to ignore the odd experience, she files it away in the back of her mind.

That is, until four-and-a-half years later, when by chance Dannie meets the very same man from her long-ago vision.

Brimming with joy and heartbreak, In Five Years is an unforgettable love story that reminds us of the power of loyalty, friendship, and the unpredictable nature of destiny.

714AEDAC-B25A-4D38-9A74-AA96D63C295C

I received an ARC of In Five Years, I was so thrilled by this, this was one of my most anticipated reads for this year.

The story follows Dannie, a young career driven woman from New York, who at the start of the book has a dream or a premonition of her life in five years time, she can’t quite understand what it meant, whether it was real or just dream. But almost five years later when some parts of her ‘dream’ start to look like they could be reality, Dannie starts to unravel a bit.

Her life isn’t exactly what dreams are made of, and it seems to have taken her a long time to realise that she could have so much more.

I really liked Dannie as a character, a few things did annoy me a bit, she was so full on and career driven, She has a five year plan that includes being a partner at her law firm and marrying her long term boyfriend. I did want to shake her a few times, which her best friend Bella’s job it seems, I loved Bella, she was kind of care free, but also the sweetest and kindest girl, she was such a great character.

There was no ‘bad guy’ in the story at all, Dannie’s boyfriend David was a great character too who cared for her and for Bella too. But their relationship just had no spark that I could see.

At that start when she had the dream with the different guy, I thought I knew how the story was going to plan out, but I was wrong, there are a few things that I think can be predicted, but the outcome was very different than I imagined.

I loved the story, I was beautiful and heartbreaking, Rebecca Serle did a great job, the story flowed so well, and was a very, very enjoyable read. The writing was brilliant, I really love her writing style.

In Five Years is a thought provoking romance with love, friendship, and different relationships. This beautifully written and absorbing story will take readers through an emotional journey. I highly recommend this to any romance fan.

Amazon –  https://www.amazon.co.uk/Five-Years-Rebecca-Serle/dp/1529405807/ref=mp_s_a_1_1?keywords=in+five+years+rebecca+serle&qid=1579018766&sprefix=in+five+years&sr=8-1

Goodreads – https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/50093704-in-five-years

BCF884E5-EE60-4B80-940C-683254DF2240

2 thoughts on “In Five Years by Rebecca Serle

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s