book review · books · Review · romance · thriller · YA · Young adult fiction

One Of Us Is Lying by Karen M McManus

Five students go to detention. Only four leave alive. For fans of Gossip Girl and Pretty Little Liars, this is the perfect high school thriller.

Yale hopeful Bronwyn has never publicly broken a rule.

Sports star Cooper only knows what he’s doing in the baseball diamond.

Bad boy Nate is one misstep away from a life of crime.

Prom queen Addy is holding together the cracks in her perfect life.

And outsider Simon, creator of the notorious gossip app at Bayview High, won’t ever talk about any of them again.

He dies 24 hours before he could post their deepest secrets online. Investigators conclude it’s no accident. All of them are suspects.

Everyone has secrets, right?

What really matters is how far you’ll go to protect them.

A0A08D62-7CC1-4173-BFC4-990C7AFDE779

I’d had this book on my shelf for quite a while before I finally picked it up, and it turned out to be one of those ones that I was kicking myself for not reading sooner! I was hooked straight away, it was so gripping. 

The book is broken up into four different POVs, ‘the murder club’ as they come to call themselves, Bronwyn, Addy, Cooper and Nate. It switches up regularly, I loved this as it kept the pace going really well. I loved all the characters, There was also plenty of diversity, which I thought added so much to the book, such as racial and LGBTQ+ diversity. 

 I did not find this book predictable. Each of the characters were made to seem equally suspicious and possibly guilty, i really enjoyed that as it kept me guessing about who did actually murder Simon, right until I found out. The characters were catogorised as stereotypical high school students, popular kids, jocks, bad boys etc… it was exactly how the story was supposed to be, I loved it.

The ending was unexpected and was a brilliant plot twist, I loved how I wasn’t able to predict anything for the book. 

The plot although complex and brilliant was quite easy to follow, I had actually read a few people saying that they guessed the ending half way through or similar things, but honestly I didn’t guess, I had so many theories, one of which was close to be right, but I still didn’t guess the whole thing and I didn’t actually start thinking that particular theory until nearer the end. It is not a predictable mystery at all! Karen researched and wrote the story so well. I thought the ending was great, I wasn’t disappointed at all.

I really enjoyed the little bits of romance, I am a sucker for romantic books, so to have some cuteness in a mystery/thriller book was fantastic and made me love it even more! 

Once the four realised that they were practically branded together, the friendship they developed was quite nice. 

I honestly couldn’t put it down. The writing style was very easy to read, I read it all in a couple of hours, I just couldn’t pull myself away from the story, I needed to find out what happened to Simon! 

Advertisements

9 thoughts on “One Of Us Is Lying by Karen M McManus

  1. I read this book a couple of years ago now I think and I loved it too! When I see reviews of people saying they hated it or the story was predictable I’m like ‘what?!’ I didn’t guess the plot twist at the end either and I really want to go back an re-read this now I enjoyed it that much!

    Jess // foundationsandfairytales.wordpress.com
    xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s