book blogger · book review · books · Review

Broken Branches By M. Jonathan Lee

‘Family curses don’t exist. Sure, some families seem to suffer more pain than others, but a curse? An actual curse? I don’t think so.’

A family tragedy was the catalyst for Ian Perkins to return to the isolated cottage with his wife and young son. But now they are back, it seems yet more grief might befall the family.

There is still time to act, but that means Ian must face the uncomfortable truth about his past. And in doing so, he must uncover the truth behind the supposed family curse.

broken-branchesI was very kindly sent this book from Hideaway fall, a brand new book publisher! Along with a lovely pack of bookish goodies, so before I discuss the book I would like to say thank you to them!

This book isn’t the sort of book I would normally pick up, I am much more inclined to stick to genres that I know that I enjoy reading, mostly romance books, sometimes a thriller.
But I was very pleasantly surprised by this book!
First of all I thought the cover was really nice and it did intrigue me, if I was in a shop I think I would pick this up out of interest!

It did take me a while to get into the story, normally I prefer to read books from a first person perspective, this was in third person and I will admit that I didn’t like that at the beginning, but I did quickly get used to it, and it didn’t bother me much at all.
I think the writing was very good, it was descriptive and it made reading the book easy and enjoyable.

I’m a reader who likes to try and guess how a book is going to end (I never skip to the end or anything) but I do always have theories, and my theory changed so many times while reading this! I honestly had no clue. I thought it was very cleverly written and I am pretty impressed with the story and the ending.

On of the plot twist I did guess, but I was second guessing myself a lot until it was revealed, I’ll not tell you what it was, but it was good. There were many other plot twists that I didn’t guess at all.

Overall I really enjoyed the book, I thought it was a really interesting and entertaining read! I would definitely recommend this book if you want a read that you have to think about and that you will have no real clue what is going on until the end (in a good way).

I will look forward to trying another book by this author!

Lainy x

Leave a Reply

