book blogger · book review · books · Review

April Roundup

Hello!

Happy May! I can’t believe how fast this year is going! April just seemed to disappear!

I only read four books in April, it was a slower month for reading, things just seemed to get in the way! But I did enjoy the books that I read!

 

The first book  I read was Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher, I had seen so much hype about this book and with the series coming out I really wanted to read it, so I did, I managed to finish it in a day too!
It was a really powerful book (as was the show, maybe a bit more powerful than the book) I’ve seen a lot of bad reviews about this, it’s a very touchy subject but I really liked it, a lot of it was pretty hard and sad to read, but it did really make me think.th2PY2Y9SZ
I connected with a lot of the characters and I had a lot of mixed emtions while reading! I think it was well written and well researched. It’s not going to a book or a show that everyone is going to like, but I would really recommend giving it a go!

 

 

 

Next I read Lola and the Boy next door by Stephanie Perkins, the second book following Anna and the French Kiss (which I LOVED) and I loved this one just as much! I thought it was written really well and the story flowed thY5P2BCNVbrilliantly and there was also a little bit of humour along with a lovely romance. I really like the characters in this book, even the ones with the very strange names! I would highly urge any YA lover to read this series! I can’t want to read Isla and the Happily Ever After now!

 

 

 

 

I read The One Memory of Flora Banks, I have mixed feelings about this book, it took me a while to really get into it, I’m not sure if it was the book or if I was in a bit of a reading slump. It was different from books that I had read before, the writing seemed different and obviously the story was very different a original. At first it did annoy me how childish and annoying reading Flora’s thoughts was, the repetitiveness was quite hard to not get annoyed at… but actually I ended up very into the book. I wanted to know what happened I did find myself feeling quite thJQF78KHRshocked at some of the stuff that occurred, so maybe it was just the slump? I did read a few other reviews that brought up how annoying Flora was and that there was a certain line the book that was repeated a lot, but I do actually think that added to the story. So yeah i’m glad I give this book a go and stuck it through!

 

 

 

The last book I read this month was Lifers by Jane Harvey Berrick, this was only 99p in the kindle store, and I loved it!! It’s an adult book, with quite a few sex scenes in it, so if that’s not for you maybe give this book a miss, I’m going to do a separate post on this one and a little bit on a previous JHB book i read! But it was great!

2 thoughts on “April Roundup

Leave a Reply

