book blogger · book review · books · Review

The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson (Review and Giveaway!)

Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life – and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey’s boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie’s own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they’re the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can’t collide without the whole wide world exploding.

I recently came across this book, which has been out for a while, I bought two Jandy Nelson books and I’ve loved them both!
The Sky is Everywhere follows Lennie Walker, who has recently lost her sister Bailey. She struggles with the grief that comes with Bailey’s death. She plays clarinet in school, likes writing poetry and works in a local deli, she pushes everyone away as she struggles with her grief.

Lennie meets Joe,the new boy and she is immediately transfixed, Joe plays guitar and Lennie seems to like him a lot. But when Toby who is Bailey’s old boyfriend reeneters her life, things get really complicated as the both try to deal with their own grief.

I loved Jandy’s writing in this book, it was descriptive, some  of the time I could really visualise the settings! The writing flowed really well and made the book really easy to read, She used a lot of metaphors in creative ways. I’ve seen some reviews that disliked the way that the book was written, but I really enjoyed and I think it made a very interesting read.

Before a lot of the chapters, there are short poems that tell us what Lennie is thinking and gives us a better insight into her life that she had with her sister. The poems were quick and fun to read, they really broke the book up and were an interesting way of showing the readers what Bailey and Lennie’s sisterly relationship was like. The poems were not only about Lennie’s grief, but also about her feelings towards the boy she ends up with.

There was some poor decisions made by Lennie I thought, which were justified by her grief, there were times I wanted to yell “WHY ARE YOU DOING THAT?” at the pages, so I did get very into the book!

I thought this book was a really nice read, it wasn’t drama filled and I did guess what happened at the end before I got there, but that didn’t stop me loving the book!

The book obviously deals with death, and in my opinion I think Jandy done a great job with this subject, yes the book has sad parts but the romance and the storylines make it a very lovely to read!

I would recommend this book to any YA lovers, who would like a short and sweet read!

*GIVEAWAY*

I have an extra copy of The Sky is Everywhere that I am giving away over on my twitter, @BookishBitsBlog go check it out if you want to read this wonderful book yourself!

Leave a Reply

