book blogger · book review · books · Review

Making Faces by Amy Harmon

Ambrose Young was beautiful. The kind of beautiful that graced the covers of romance novels, and Fern Taylor would know. She’d been reading them since she was thirteen. But maybe because he was so beautiful he was never someone Fern thought she could have…until he wasn’t beautiful anymore. Making Faces is the story of a small town where five young men go off to war, and only one comes back. It is the story of loss. Collective loss, individual loss, loss of beauty, loss of life, loss of identity. It is the tale of one girl’s love for a broken boy, and a wounded warrior’s love for an unremarkable girl. This is a story of friendship that overcomes heartache, heroism that defies the common definitions, and a modern tale of Beauty and the Beast, where we discover that there is a little beauty and a little beast in all of us.

 

I started this book in February but I couldn’t quite get into the story and it was a struggle to try to read, so I left it and put it on my March TBR as I really wanted to finish it, I had read lots of really good reviews on it.

I think the reason I struggled to get into the book straight away was because of the way it was written, I am used to books being written in the first person but Making Faces was written in third person so it wasn’t just focused on one characters point of view.

Once I started the book again I got sucked straight into the story, and I really enjoyed reading in third person, each character was written so well and the book was descriptive and I was able to visualise the characters and environments, I loved watching the characters develop relationships with one another.

The books focuses on three main characters, Fern, Ambrose and Bailey; each one is a little bit different in society’s eyes and I loved reading about each character.
I especially loved the relationship between Fern and Ambrose and watching it build from her admiring him from afar to her being the one to save him from himself and his loneliness after he had come back from serving in the Army.

I found characters that I loved, characters that annoyed me and characters that I got so angry at! And that is exactly what I want in a book!

I found the story to be a little bit like Beauty and the Beast, with how Ambrose seen himself after the accident, I loved watching him grow and come to terms with his looks!

At the end of the book I found myself shedding a few tears several times, it’s been a while since a book has made me actually cry! I found it easy to get so invested in the characters!

Amy did such a good job with this book, the way she wrote the characters and how the dealt with certain difficult situations through their lives was brilliant! I would definitely recommend this book!

Leave a Reply

