book review · books · Review

Love Song by Sophia Bennett

A million girls would kill for the chance to meet The Point, but Nina’s not one of them.

She’s the new assistant to the lead singer’s diva fiancée, and she knows it’s going to suck. She quickly learns that being with the hottest band on the planet isn’t as easy as it looks: behind the scenes, the boys are on the verge of splitting up. Tasked with keeping an eye on four gorgeous but spoiled rock stars, Nina’s determined to stick it out – and not fall for any of them …

Nina’s experience was entertaining to read about right from the beginning, from how she managed to get the job to her actually in the job, where you might think it such a dream job, I liked seeing it from her eyes, something any girl would dream about, but really it’s not all that. A lot of the characters had quite dramatic personalities which could come across as a little unrealistic, but it definitely added to the story, they are popstars after all! I thought it was really nice to watch how Nina affected everyone, she could be calming and helpful in ways that most of the other crew couldn’t.IMG_4193

Another aspect that I  liked about LoveSong was that  Nina first worked for the band through Sigrid, the lead singers girlfriend, which made the thing a lot more realistic in my opinion, there was a valid reason for why Sigrid wanted Nina to work for her. The idea of a random girl from a meet and greet ending up working for a band is kind of difficult to realistically pull off,  but I feel like Sophia Bennett made it work by making Nina very responsible and Sigrid demanding (so that she would be fussy about her assistant, and allowed to choose one herself), I loved the part where we find out why Sigrid really wanted Nina to work for her, I think it makes it even more believable that she pushed and pushed to have Nina as her assistant, it was a good twist to the story, I was certainly not a fan of Sigrid!

I liked the character of Ariel, Nina’s little sister, who was a huge fan of The Point, but then turned her back on them when Nina’s feelings were hurt, I loved the sibling bond that they had, and how Ariel was able to just stop liking her favourite band because they hurt her sister. But I did love the ending, and the fact that maybe Ariel could enjoy the band again.

I loved the ending, Nina going back this time without Sigrid, I loved everything that happened during the time in the house, the descriptions in the book where so good that sometimes I could imagine being there!
I adored the song writing and the rebonding of the band towards the end, it was very cute and made me smile!

I thought LoveSong was a great YA read, it is definitely a book I would recommend to any younger teen who’s looking for a fun read, I think it’s very relatable to the Boyband saga of today, so people will love this!
The writing was fast pace, easily read, detailed and fabulous! I loved the characterisation in the book and I felt connected to many characters, and then there was ones that I did had feelings of annoyance towards because they were so well written.

If you haven’t read LoveSong please do! It’s a fun and easy read! It took me a long time t finally pick it up, and I’m annoyed now that it did!
Thank you Sophia for writing such a lovely book!

Have you read LoveSong? Or any other books by Sophia Bennett? I think I’m going to have to get some more of her books now!

 

Leave a Reply

