book review · books · Review

Paper Butterflies by Lisa Heathfield

June’s life at home with her stepmother and stepsister is a dark one – and a secret one. Not even her father knows about it. She’s trapped like a butterfly in a net.
But then she meets Blister, a boy in the woods. And in him, June recognises the tiniest glimmer of hope that perhaps she can find a way to fly far, far away from home and be free. Because every creature in this world deserves their freedom . . . but at what price?

~

I won this book on a twitter competition and I am so glad that I did, otherwise I don’t think I would have ever read it, I waited a while before reading it too, which I totally regret!

I was constantly so  emotional when i was reading about June’s life it was just so heart-breaking and her story only got more intense and sad as the book continued  The whole way through the book your heart will ache for June and you’ll find yourself feeling so sorry for her! 

June goes through so much suffering in the other parts of her life,but Blister seemed like a ray of sunshine for June. Blister and his family seemed to be the only positive in Junes life. I adored how much he cared for June even from a young age, and I also really liked the bits where he became angry at Junes situation.
I thought the characterisation in the book was fantastic, all the characters were realistic and well written, I instantly felt a connection to the book.

The twist in the book at the end was just powerful and for me unexpected, but it was so well written and delivered that I loved it, even though it made me incredibly sad.

This books deals with a lot of dark and horrible issues, some people may not like it, it talks about abuse and it does give horrible detail and examples of this poor young girls life, but this was one of the most important and best books that I have ever read. It really opened my eyes to things that were happening in the world, I couldn’t stop thinking about all the real life Junes!

Thanks you Lisa for this wonderful story! I would advise anyone to read Paper Butterflies!

th1ZT0DIYA

Leave a Reply

